Results Of 29th August Elections

cleo malala

In the postponed elections, Raila’s led coalition Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Alliance has emerged victorious against the president-elect, Dr.William Ruto, Kenya Kwanza. The delayed polls were key to both leaders. This is in the effort to have control in government. The majority has a big share and holds influential positions.

County Elections

In Mombasa County ODM’s candidate, Abdulswamad Shariff Nasir won the Mombasa gubernatorial race. His closest rival Omar Sarai of UDA got 98,501 votes. The second governor of Mombasa has promised to work with everybody to move the county ahead.

In Kakamega, ODM’s candidate Fernandez Oding’a Barasa is the governor-elect. Barasa floored ANc’s Cleopas Malala with 192,929 votes against 158508. The outgoing senator has already conceded defeat.

Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Alliance has now 23 governors while Kenya Kwanza has 24. Mandera governor shifted camp from Azimio to Kenya Kwanza while Kawira Mwangaza of Meru County who vied as an independent candidate joined Kenya Kwanza.

Parliamentary Elections

In Rongai, UDA candidate Paul Chebor won with 27,021 votes against the incumbent MP Raymond Moi’s 14715 votes. Moi has served for two terms since 2013 on a KANU ticket.
In Kitui Rural the incumbent MP David Mboni Mwalika of Wiper retained his seat with 19,745 votes overcoming his main competitor UDA’s Charles Nyamai who pulled 10,177 votes. The polls were participated by 57.71% of 55,000 registered voters. 166 votes were rejected.
In Kacheliba KUP’s candidate, Titus Lotee emerged as the winner with 20,073 votes out of 39,382 casts. The incumbent MP under UDA become second with 17,963 votes while KANU’s John Lokitare came third with 1,341 votes. The torn-out in Kacheliba was 77% of the total of 51,146 voters. 41 votes were rejected.

In Pokot South, David Pkosing retained his seat with 28,225 votes. UDA’s Simon Kalekem got 15,298 votes while independent candidate James Lopoyetum got 2,667 votes. The turnout was 79.10% of 46,200 registered voters. 156 votes were rejected.

Leave a Reply